AG appoints Agency Director and Deputy Director

Drs. Hawk Sawyer and Kane to return to BOP

Memorandum on Use of Private Prisons Rescinded

(BOP) - On August 19, 2019, the Attorney General appointed Dr. Kathleen Hawk Sawyer to serve as the 10th Director of the Federal Bureau of Prisons. Dr. Hawk Sawyer previously served as Director of the agency from 1992 until her retirement in 2003 and has 27 years experience in corrections. She received numerous awards for service and leadership, including the Attorney General's Award for Excellence in Management in 1992, the Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Service in 1994 and 2000, and the Presidential Distinguished Executive Award in 1997.

Attorney General Barr also appointed Dr. Thomas R. Kane as the Deputy Director. Dr. Kane served in the Bureau of Prisons from 1977 to 2018, including 30 years in multiple senior leadership positions such as Chief of Staff, Assistant Director, Deputy Director, and Acting Director under four Attorneys General. He received numerous awards and other recognition throughout his career, including the Attorney General’s Medallion, two Meritorious Presidential Rank Awards, and the BOP Distinguished Service Medal.

DOJ Press Release